Merseyside MPs issue a joint Hillsborough Statement

Following the Hillsborough inquest verdicts on 26th April, Merseyside MPs came together to issue a joint statement to welcome the determination that the Liverpool supporters were unlawfully killed.  The ruling finally brought justice to the victims, their friends and families, all the campaigners and the Merseyside community.  Read the full statement below.

Joint statement by Merseyside MPs on the Hillsborough verdict

Following the Hillsborough verdict, whilst recognising that the decision has come years too late for many, justice has been served by the verdicts and now it is about accountability.

We recognise that it has taken the determination of families, friends and supporters of the victims to ensure that justice has been achieved.

We want to pay tribute to the hard work and determination of those who fought every step of the way to achieve this outcome which has been against all the odds.

We are also grateful to them, that in fighting for justice for the victims, their determination to show that fans did not in any way contribute to the deaths of their fellow supporters has also been fully and unequivocally vindicated.

We will also push to ensure anyone who is found to be responsible for any action that resulted in or caused, or covered up the reasons for, the deaths of so many people should face the full force of law.


We hope that the verdict, 27 years after that terrible day on 15 April 1989, will be of some comfort to the loved ones of those whose deaths could have been avoided.


Luciana Berger                       Liverpool, Wavertree

Peter Dowd                             Bootle

Angela Eagle                           Wallasey

Maria Eagle                            Garston and Halewood

Louise Ellman                         Liverpool, Riverside               

Bill Esterson                            Sefton Central

Frank Field                              Birkenhead

Margaret Greenwood           Wirral West

George Howarth                    Knowsley

Conor McGinn                        St Helens North

Alison McGovern                   Wirral South

John Pugh                                Southport

Marie Rimmer                         St Helens South and Whiston

Steve Rotheram                      Liverpool, Walton

Derek Twigg                             Halton

Stephen Twigg                       Liverpool, West Derby

Created with NationBuilder